Official website for iCreate - the creative magazine for Mac users

FOLLOW US ON:

Oct 22, 2012

iPad Mini – Apple prepares theatre for Tuesday 23rd event

by Freddie Harrison

Decorations have gone up at The California Theatre where Apple are due to unveil the iPad Mini, new iMacs, new Mac minis and more on Tuesday 23rd October.

California Theatre - 2The first pictures have come in of Apple’s iPad Mini event venue as it’s being readied for the Special Event on Tuesday 23rd October. Techie Buzz posted images of The California Theatre in San Jose, California yesterday showing the venue decorated in Apple’s iconic branding with a psychedelic twist. As well ‘Apple Special Event’ being displayed on the theatre’s own signage, posters around the building depict Apple’s logo along with some more colourful, enlarged versions of it in the background.

The event itself, which takes place on Tuesday 23rd October at 6PM GMT/ 10AM PT / 1PM ET, is due to see Apple unveil the all-new iPad Mini (a 7-inch version of Apple’s flagship tablet – the iPad), a 13″ MacBook Pro with Retina Display as well as refreshed iMacs and Mac minis. Speculation also suggests that Apple will announce an updated version of the current, 9.7-inch iPad that features the new Lightning connector instead of the current 16-pin connection.

California Theatre - 1

The venue itself hasn’t been used by Apple since 2005, when Steve Jobs announced the first video iPod as well as the addition of TV shows to the iTunes store.

California Theatre - 3

We’ll be live-Tweeting the whole event, as it happens, from @iCreateMagazine tomorrow evening and you’ll be able to get a full round-up of the event here on icreatemagazine.com as soon as it’s finished.

  • Tell a Friend
  • Our Twitter provides the latest breaking apple news, reviews, tutorials and downloads online and our Facebook fan page is the best place to communicate with other iCreate fans.